An induction program for new PhD students at Sikkim University

An induction program for new PhD students at Sikkim University for the years 2023-24 and 2024-25, along with recently appointed Assistant Professors, was held on December 12, 2024, at the Conference Hall of Rapjyor-Cauvery Hall, 5th Mile, Tadong. At the beginning of the event, Dr. Suresh Gurung, Joint Registrar, welcomed the Vice-Chancellor, dignitaries, and students. Prof. Sanjay Dahal, the Dean of Students' Welfare, shared details about the non-NET fellowship and how to apply. Prof. Laxuman Sharma, the Registrar, discussed the various facilities available at the University, while Dr. S. Murli Mohan, the Controller of Examinations, provided an overview of examination rules.

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Dr. Jyoti Prakash Tamang extended a warm welcome to all the new PhD students. He delivered an in-depth presentation on Research Conduct and Ethics, explaining the significance of "Re-Search." He highlighted the values of honesty, originality, objectivity, integrity, transparency, accountability, confidentiality, and teamwork in research. He encouraged students to follow guidelines on plagiarism, copyright issues, and to avoid repeating research, fabricating data, authorship disputes, and predatory journals. The Vice-Chancellor also instructed on how to write quality scientific papers and conduct systematic reviews using meta-analysis. He discussed the UGC-CARE list, types of peer reviews, referencing styles, impact factors, citation indexes, and *h*-index. He urged all PhD students and researchers to be creative and innovative thinkers, developing strong vocabulary, writing skills, analytical abilities, and effective communication skills. In closing, he emphasized the importance of fostering a sense of belonging and responsibility to the nation, enhancing Sikkim University's reputation, and maintaining a positive mindset.

Key officials present at the induction program included the Deans of various schools, the Dean of Students' Welfare, Deputy Librarian Dr. S. Kujur, IQAC Chairman Prof. Anil Kr. Misra, NIRF Chairman Prof. S. Mukhopadhyay, and Research and Development Cell Director Prof. Sohel Firdos. The event concluded with a vote of thanks from Dr. Gurung.

